Guy We Didn't Draft (Though Talked About) Dazzles At Saints Camp

TuscanyTile2

This is the guy I wanted the Jets to draft.  Don't get me wrong though.  After seeing Calvin Pryor's highlights (crushing hits), I was fine w/ the pick.  I'm no expert anyway.  But I will be following Brandin Cooks.

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000371038/article/brandin-cook

Rookie wide receiver Brandin Cooks lit up training camp on Tuesday with the session's finest play, taking a Brees screen pass the distance and showing off his speed and wiggle along the way.s-dazzles-at-new-orleans-saints-camp

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I guess you can watch his career and lament the Jets not drafting him every day, but there's no way he would be able to accomplish in the Meadowlands with Geno (or Vick for that matter) what he'll be able to do with Brees in a dome.

Well, I guess you can watch his career and lament the Jets not drafting him every day, but there's no way he would be able to accomplish in the Meadowlands with Geno (or Vick for that matter) what he'll be able to do with Brees in a dome.

So the argument against drafting him is airtight then, is what you're saying?

So the argument against drafting him is airtight then, is what you're saying?

I support the team taking the first safety off the board instead of the fourth WR; a tiny, speedy WR at that. The pass defense needed nearly as much help as the passing offense. We'll see how the careers of Cooks and Pryor go, with an eye on Jalen Saunders, too.

Would I've been excited if they took Cooks? Yeah, I would've. I think it would've been a bold pick. The boom/bust potential is significantly greater with Cooks. I don't think that's the kind of pick you're ever going to see Idzik make in the first round, though. I'm sure he wants star potential, but I have a feeling that a high floor is more important to him than a high ceiling that high.