Tom Brady's Appeal Letter

Fishooked

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Any lawyers here? Is the letter right in saying Goodell did not have the authority to delegate the assessment of the punishments to Vincent?

I wonder where we can read the article. Does it say he can't delegate tgat responsibility? If it doesn't say that then I'd guess he can. After all the rules didn't say the Patriots couldn't use their now illegal alignments, same premise

Any lawyers here? Is the letter right in saying Goodell did not have the authority to delegate the assessment of the punishments to Vincent?

I'm not a lawyer but my gut is that Goodell can do whatever he wants. There's no clause in the constitution that protects Tom's rights against arbitrary NFL punishments.  

I'm not a lawyer but my gut is that Goodell can do whatever he wants. There's no clause in the constitution that protects Tom's rights against arbitrary NFL punishments.  

It is pretty strange the appeal letter would claim delegating the punishments could not be done, but then fail to quote the exact wording from the rules, CBA,etc. that says it can't be done. If there isn't specific wording like that specifically forbidding the delegation of the punishments, then I agree. Goodell can do it if he wants.

As I understand the CBA, Goodell absolutely has the authority to oversee this arbitration.

I agree. But my question was whether he had the authority to let Vincent dole out the punishments in the first place. The appeal letter says Goodell had to do it himself, so delegating the punishments to Vincent was a violation of the CBA. I'm wondering if it is.

I love this part:

it contains no corresponding provision authorizing the Commissioner to delegate his exclusive role to impose conduct detrimental discipline to you or anyone else. You have no authority to impose discipline on Mr. Brady under the CBA, and such discipline must therefore be set aside.1