Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

**** Official Hockey East 2012-2013 Season Thread ****

Recommended Posts

It is the final season with 10 teams as Notre Dame joins in the 2013-2014 season and UConn in the 2014-2015 season.

A quick rundown:

BC: Once again they are defending National Champs and the team to beat.

BU: Had a troubling offseason to say the least http://www.boston.co...NQ9O/story.html

Lowell: Came out of nowhere last season to finish 2nd in Hockey East and make the NCAA tournament.

Maine: Abbott and Flynn are gone as are their 110 points. Plus Timmay is still HC.

UMass: The Toot era is over and they settled for their 4th or was it 5th choice for HC by hiring an assistant from UVM.

Merrimack: Faded down the stretch last year and Canatta is gone. Not sure how they replace him.

UNH: No idea how they will do.

Northeastern: Will be fighting for a Hockey East playoff spot for the 20th season in a row.

Providence: Up and coming. Interested to see how they do this season.

UVM: Will they get more than the 7 Hockey East points they "won" last year?

Looking a couple of years down the road I'm not happy with this at all:

Sep 10, 2012 - Hockey East will change its playoff format beginning in the 2013-14 season by expanding to allow all conference teams into the postseason tournament, according to a report from CollegeHockeyNews.com.

Currently, eight of the conference's 10 teams qualify for the postseason tournament. With Notre Dame set to join the conference in the 2013-14 season, the Hockey East Tournament will expand to include all 11 teams in the conference. When Connecticut joins the conference for the 2014-15 season, all 12 teams will play in the tournament.

Hockey East is the only conference that does not currently include all teams in its postseason tournament. The conference will eliminate the final week of the regular season to accommodate the expanded tournament. During the 2014 tournament, the top five teams will receive first-round byes with the remaining six playing to advance to the quarterfinals. The following year, when the conference expands to 12 teams, the top four seeds will receive first-round byes.

It's yet to be determined whether or not the first round games will be single-elimination or a best-of-three series.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Lowell wins the regualr season title.


Missed your thread,


UNH started fast and then choked away a chance to win the title with a slow finish.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

UML a number 1 seed.  UNH and BC also in.


BC flames out and Lowell takes down UNH (my condolences). Lowell is heading to Pittsburgh to take on Yale in the Frozen Four. Woohoo!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this