Hurricane Dorian Assistance

1 hour ago, joewilly12 said:

I live in N.J and i'm recovering from a very serious back operation with sciatic nerve issues currently, I cannot help anyone at this time. If I was healthy I would most definitely help out if I could, after all I've been volunteering for the fire department for the last 38 years of my life. 

@Jet_Engine1

I thought you were down here.

We dodged a bullet, more like a buzz saw, Floridians.  My heart goes out to those in the Bahamas.  Just brutal devastation. 

Jax Beach only got some wind and rain.  Debris, some puddles, but all in all, not bad.  Never lost power, no trees down, no flooded streets.

Hope everyone is safe!  Good luck everyone up on the Carolina's! 

• Upvote 2

28 minutes ago, Jetsfan80 said:

Ugh, the storm has strengthened back to a Category 3.  The wife and I evacuated from Wilmington to Raleigh, so we'll be fine.  Just worried about the folks who stayed at home.  I almost wish there had been a mandatory evacuation to get them to leave.  

I told you they always miss us and hit you!  Just kidding.  Be safe!  

• Upvote 1

4 minutes ago, Jet_Engine1 said:

Yeah, this one is crazy. Going g to a drop point today for Bahamas relief,  donating all of our hurricane supplies and bedding etc, barges will be enroute soon.

Nice!  We're doing the same.  Tons of clothes.  I'm going to ask the company to do something as well, run a food drive or something

• Upvote 1

5 hours ago, JiF said:

I told you they always miss us and hit you!  Just kidding.  Be safe!  

Usually the Outer Banks serves as "protection" for us, and Wilmington ends up skating by.  In all my years here there really weren't any bad storms until Florence last year, and now this one.  Back to back after years of quiet.  Luck of the draw I guess!

5 hours ago, JiF said:

Nice!  We're doing the same.  Tons of clothes.  I'm going to ask the company to do something as well, run a food drive or something