Job Interview

Preston Howley III

Help me out. I have an interview with a Wall Street finance company on Monday, and needless to say, I'm a bit nervous.

I have an aversion to being interviewed in a professional environment the way normal people have an aversion to going to the dentist.

As you all can attest, I'm a candid person.

When he asks me, "why do you want to be a stockbroker", my honest answer would be

"Actually, I don't. This is a temporary thing, and I'm only doing this because It will look great on my resume, when I go to apply for the job(s) I really want".

But what should I say?

Feel free to give me other tips, too. Keep in mind, I have no Sales experience. Teach me how I can interpret that as a positive and not a negative.

Help me out. I have an interview with a Wall Street finance company on Monday, and needless to say, I'm a bit nervous.

I have an aversion to being interviewed in a professional environment the way normal people have an aversion to going to the dentist.

As you all can attest, I'm a candid person.

When he asks me, "why do you want to be a stockbroker", my honest answer would be

"Actually, I don't. This is a temporary thing, and I'm only doing this because It will look great on my resume, when I go to apply for the job(s) I really want".

But what should I say?

Feel free to give me other tips, too. Keep in mind, I have no Sales experience. Teach me how I can interpret that as a positive and not a negative.

Jetmo-If you are truly just "using" this job, the best thing to say is that would like to use thsi job as a "foundational experience to grow myself professionally and contribute positive things to a team"

Chances are, if this is a professional interviewer, your body language and demeanor are going to key him that you are not in for the long haul.

Maybe it will work out and he is just looking to fill a hole for a period of time, or he thinks he can work with you.