Grading Jets’ rookies through 5 games

LIJetsFan

Edoga should really have got a year to sit out and enter a more stable line in time. I liked him a lot as a prospect but he’s getting a rough deal being thrown into fix that mess.

Rating is also pretty kind on Q. Certainly wouldn’t give him higher than a C. He was hyped as a dominant force and we’ve seen only occasional glimpses in a position where rookies can generally contribute immediately. 

• Upvote 1

19 minutes ago, Irish Jet said:

Edoga should really have got a year to sit out and enter a more stable line in time. I liked him a lot as a prospect but he’s getting a rough deal being thrown into fix that mess.

I am far from an expert on OL play, but I don't recall seeing or hearing much from Demarcus Lawrence.  Pretty sure he lined up on Edoga's side most of the game.  I think Edoga had some help from the TE at times, but also seemed to handle him pretty well in some one-on-one situtuations.  I thought he was pretty solid after a rough first outing.

• Upvote 1

1 minute ago, varjet said:

Cashman deserves an A- for a fifth round pick.  

Otherwise good article.  

Agreed.  I don't know how you could expect much more than what we have gotten from Cashman through these first 5 games.  Forced to start due to injury and playing well.

• Upvote 2
  • Sympathy 1

4 minutes ago, Lith said:

I am far from an expert on OL play, but I don't recall seeing or hearing much from Demarcus Lawrence.  Pretty sure he lined up on Edoga's side most of the game.  I think Edoga had some help from the TE at times, but also seemed to handle him pretty well in some one-on-one situtuations.  I thought he was pretty solid after a rough first outing.

Agreed.  I thought Edoga looked a lot better, his head was probably spinning pretty fast the prior week in his first start.  He seemed to settle down and played pretty well.  

• Upvote 1
  • Sympathy 1

57 minutes ago, Lith said: