"An Unspeakable Tragedy" (40 years ago today)

14 minutes ago, The Crusher said:

Never forget that day,  Woke up to my mother crying in the kitchen, horrifying loss. RIP John. 

I was in my bedroom listening to WPLJ, my parents were watching MNF in their bedroom.  My mom calls out to me, she tells me the news, I hear 30 seconds of Howard Cosell.  I go back in my room stunned, thinking this can't be happening.  WPLJ plays Imagine, every radio station in New York is simultaneously playing Imagine, and then I knew it was real.

SAR I

• Upvote 2

I was a freshman at the University of Alabama.  I was in the library studying for a final. didn't watch MNF, and didn't hear about it until the next morning.  I saw it on the headlines of all the newspaper racks in front of the student center on my way to class.  I just couldn't believe it.

That was back when we had newspaper racks, when information travelled slowly, and when people actually went to class to take an exam

• Upvote 2

1 hour ago, SAR I said:

I was in my bedroom listening to WPLJ, my parents were watching MNF in their bedroom.  My mom calls out to me, she tells me the news, I hear 30 seconds of Howard Cosell.  I go back in my room stunned, thinking this can't be happening.  WPLJ plays Imagine, every radio station in New York is simultaneously playing Imagine, and then I knew it was real.

SAR I

i was watching that mnf game.  i heard it first from cosell just like your parents did.  what a tragedy.

• Upvote 2

41 minutes ago, SAR I said:

On a macro level, I understood what John was saying.  A peaceful world without capitalistic competition.

But the man owned an entire penthouse floor of the most expensive building in the most expensive city in the world.  He cheated on his wife, abandoned his child, and took up with another woman.  He sang about having a clear mind and injected copious amounts of heroin.  It's not like he was living the ideals he was selling.  Too many people preaching practices.

SAR I