I admit I am far from an expert, but when I see these stats it makes me think: Why not Trey Lance? 

Did he have an easier schedule than Carson Wentz or is the general consensus that this QB class is really good? 

How does the competition Trey Lance faced compares to Zach Wilsons? 

Enlighten me please. 

1144446541_Screenshot2021-03-13at16_16_50.thumb.png.e32368e2c7c64c287e34036222319382.png

I like Lance over both Wilson and Fields but I wouldn’t draft him at 2.  He’s just too much of a project

and it looks like he won’t make it to 23 

• Upvote 1

It's been said by a lot of people far more knowledgable and intelligent than I; quarterback stats are meaningless in the college game.

Forget for a second that college offense are so good at manufacturing yards via system/scheme (far ahead of collegiate defenses), but the real crux of the matter is in the massive inequality in the talent distribution. 

NDSU dominates the Football Championship division like Alabama dominates the SEC. Every game those two teams suit up for ends up being a knife fight where they get to bring an AR 15. 

This is why a lot of the QB gurus look at traits and relative competition faced as opposed to stats and team success. 

• Upvote 2

One interesting thing about Lance is that most people say hes not ready and "needs to sit a year".  Id imagine during that year he would learn a pro offense, work on mechanics, get accustomed to terminology/calling plays in a huddle and working under center.  

Well isnt that what he just did for a year?  He worked with a great QB coach in Quincy Avery, specifically focusing on the type of offenses that the jets, falcons and panthers run and improved his mechanics.

I personally think playing is the most important way to learn and get better and you need a staff to simplify things for a young QB, but what exactly would be the benefit of him not starting given what he did for the last year.

• Upvote 1