Thorn tanks the Top 40 D-lineman

Larz

https://open.substack.com/pub/trenchwarfare/p/ranking-the-top-40-defensive-linemen-4ef?r=2n0sxd&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=email

Ranking the top 40 defensive linemen entering the 2023 season (25 edge/15 interior) 

Using years of film study, numbers and discussions with several Pro Bowl & All-Pro offensive linemen to rank the game's best defensive linemen

Each year I put together scouting profiles and video libraries breaking down the top 10 or so edge and interior pass-rushers in the NFL for the annual OL Masterminds event. The goal is to provide a snapshot of how each player has success, what moves they are using, from what alignment and then show what that looks like with film cut-ups.

As I’m studying every game of the season focused primarily on the offensive line, I take notes on what I see from their opponents across the line of scrimmage and have cataloged my findings over the last seven or so years. This all works together to maintain a knowledge-base on which players are the best, knowing how they win (pass-rush plan, run-defense, etc.) and tracking development in their game along the way.

This list is aimed at expanding the top 10 at each position (edge/interior) to dive deeper into my notes and share a more detailed look at the landscape of defensive linemen in the NFL as we enter the 2023 season.

I am a big fan of using ‘tiers’ to separate good from great (or elite from very good, good and solid) while the actual rankings within the tiers are more subjective based on what flavor or style the evaluator prefers.

To learn more about my grading scale and how I arrive at these conclusions, check out my recent article where I ranked the top 15 OL at each position (top 75) entering the season here.

Since the impact on the passing game and quarterback is paramount for the defensive side of the ball, I am weighing their skill-set rushing the passer over defending the run.