Question about Mariano Rivera

Jet/BosoxFan

This is a serious question...but I dont expect an objective, rational dialogue from a bunch of blind homers like smizzy, JonEJinx, blackout, and the rest...but for some masochistic reason, I'm going to ask it anyway:

Would you trade Mariano Rivera for either Brad Lidge or Huston Street? Both guys IMO have topped Mariano as closers. They dont even allow baserunners! To the best of my knowledge, Mariano always has allowed multiple baserunners. I know I'm going to regret asking for your thoughts but...any thoughts?

PS: rational, sane, stable people need only reply. Thanks

So would you trade Big Papi for Travis Haffner because Haffner is younger?

Ugh! No hijacking please. This isnt about projecting onto the Red Sox. It is about Mariano. And Big Papi is relatively young and in the prime of his career with no signs of slowing down.

In case you need me to educate you (its what I do for a living) closers, unlike massive, hulking, ULTRA-CLUTCH, juice-free sluggers, tend to lose their abilities rather fast. It happens almost overnight. In Rivera's case...he has far exceeded the expectations of everyone, even me!

10 years...but is this it?

Street, NO..he hasn't shown enough IMO

Lidge, if he had some playoff success I'd have to consider it...the guy is a stud and has a lot more baseball left in him.

The Yanks can still win it with Mo, but any team in any sport has to take every opportunity to improve themselves for a sustained period of time. I'd take a better player at almost any position if they were going to give me five or six years longer than the guy already in place.

For this season, right now..I still take Mo, two or three years I'd consider dealing him.

Ugh! No hijacking please. This isnt about projecting onto the Red Sox. It is about Mariano. And Big Papi is relatively young and in the prime of his career with no signs of slowing down.