Weightlifting

GangGreen

Yeah, I started lifting weights about 10 months ago when I joined my football team and I was wondering how much I should be lifting. I'm currently 5' 10", age 15 and 220-230 lbs. Here are my maxes and I want to know if they're average, good, or bad for my size. If they're bad, I want to know what I can do to improve.

Bench: 225 x1

Squat: 225 x3

Deadlift: 300 x1

Clean and Jerk: I'm not sure, but I believe last time I only did 155 x5 or x3

Leg press: Last time I tried, I only did 430 x6, but I could do it alot more times than that, I just didn't want to try too much and it was the first time I tried that much, so I wasn't sure what my limits were

I know these aren't that great weights, but I want to know what the average 15 year old my size can do. Thanks.

Don't worry about your maximum. Why do you think they have them bench 225 for as many reps as possible at the combine? Endurance is more important for what you want to do.

This man's got it right. Focus on more reps or more time per rep (ie six slow leg presses is a lot better than eight really fast ones). By focusing too much on maximum, you might bust something up, which is never good (especially at your age). Just keep with those weights until you do it easily (not much struggle) and then up the weights carefully. You should be fine.

Just don't neglect your legs by doing only upper-body workouts, that's never good for you.

Start reducing your weight and increasing your reps (3 sets of 8-12) otherwise you are just wasting your time. Forget about the max that you can lift.