Jump to content


Lil Bit Special

Recommended Posts


The Mets just announced all but one member of their 2009 coaching staff. Not only will Dan Warthen and Howard Johnson return (as was reported yesterday), but so will Sandy Alomar and Sandy Alomar, Jr. They have yet to name a first base coach.

The two new coaches are Randy Niemann, who will make his third stint as the bullpen coach, and Razor Shines, who will take over at third base.

Ken Oberkfell, Luis Aguayo and Guy Conti will not be back.

Question: Does the absence of Conti signal the end of Pedro Martinez’s days in Flushing?

Anyway, for more detail on the new hires, here’s the complete release from the Mets:


FLUSHING, N.Y., October 23, 2008 – New York Mets Manager Jerry Manuel today announced that Howard Johnson, Dan Warthen, Sandy Alomar, Sr., and Sandy Alomar, Jr. will return to the Mets coaching staff in 2009 and will be joined by Randy Niemann and Razor Shines.

Niemann, who was the Mets Minor League Rehabilitation Coordinator for the last two seasons, will serve in his third stint as the team’s bullpen coach. Shines, who managed the Philadelphia Phillies’ Clearwater affiliate in the Florida State League to a 64-76 mark last year, will become the Mets third base coach.

Guy Conti, the club’s bullpen coach for the past four years, third base coach Luis Aguayo and first base coach Ken Oberkfell will be reassigned within the organization. The first base coaching position is yet to be filled.

Johnson will enter his third season as the club’s hitting coach, Warthen returns for his first full season as the pitching coach, Alomar, Sr. is back for his 49th season in professional baseball, fifth year on New York’s staff and his third year as the bench coach while Alomar, Jr. is back for his second season as the Mets catching instructor.

Niemann will begin his 22nd year in the Mets organization. He served as New York’s bullpen coach on two separate occasions, from 2000-2002 and from 1997-June 6, 1999. Niemann has served as the pitching coach for various Mets minor league teams, including Norfolk (AAA) of the International League, Binghamton (AA) of the Eastern League, St. Lucie (A) of the Florida State League and Kingsport

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...