Broncos TE and cap situation

R44

Make no mistake, the Broncos should be players in the free agent sweepstakes. After restructuring the contracts of quarterback Jake Plummer, safety John Lynch, running back Mike Anderson, offensive linemen Matt Lepsis and Tom Nalen, and tight end Dwayne Carswell, the Broncos have maneuver room under the cap. They

It bugs me that they only offered him 12.5 mil for 5 years. If they really wanted to get him, they could have upped it a bit in order to screw the Broncos.

btw, I've been thinking about Trevor Pryce. If that back is healthy, he could be a terror replacing Fergy, no? I know he played DE for awhile out there, but isn't he a DT by trade?

It bugs me that they only offered him 12.5 mil for 5 years. If they really wanted to get him, they could have upped it a bit in order to screw the Broncos.

An average of $2.5m per year is a fairly large number for a TE isn't it? Especially one who's not a big name.

Having said that I really won't be surprised if the Broncos match this offer. It will be interesting to see if there is a poison pill in this deal, if it's not the $12.5m.

Welcome Rob. You are correct, that's a good sized salary for a TE in the NFL.

It will be interesting to see how the contract is constructed. Like is it backloaded or not?

A back loaded contract, for example, may have him making $1.5 million each of the first 4 season, and a $6 million balloon payment in the 5th.

Of course, because NFL contracts are never guarenteed, the Jets would owe the amount of his pro-rated signing bonus (whatever that may be) in the event that he's cut before the contract ends. So if it's a $5 million dollor bonus, he's definitely owed $1 million per season, regardless if he plays or not.

#####

T.S, Pryce is definitely on the trading block and definitely a player the Jets should consider. May have a huge contract, however, and is coming off major surgery.

The poison pill could also be something like a voidable final year.