Got my first ever weightlifting competition Thursday

GangGreen

breath. i know you know it but it cant be stressed enough. #1 reason for failed reps is not breathing.

o and have fun.

Yeah, I know you're supposed to, but I hate doing it, it makes me concentrate less on actually lifting the weight, but yeah, I see what you mean. I'm not too worried about the bench press, but I'm not very good at jerks, I can clean decently, but I can't jerk it.

Yeah, I know you're supposed to, but I hate doing it, it makes me concentrate less on actually lifting the weight, but yeah, I see what you mean. I'm not too worried about the bench press, but I'm not very good at jerks, I can clean decently, but I can't jerk it.

What's the point of cleaning it if you're not gonna jerk it? Can't beat a shower tug.

We're doing bench and jerks. Anyone got any tips for me?

i used to do that in high school also..

a thing i learned from doing it is dont go easy because you have 3 lifts.. try and do your max on your first lift then see if you can better yourself with the next to.. i messed up a few meets by trying to pace myself

Try not to shart, the judges take away points for that, especially if it drips down the leg.

:rl::rl:

i almost did that once on a deadlift i had to walk away from it and start over.. luckly it was a false alarm..

oh ganggreen another good tip is to weight in as light as possible because in the case of a tie breaker the person that weights less wins.. i ****ed myself like that once to because i was to lazy to take off my clothes for weight in so instead of weighting in at 125 i weighed in at like 128 and the kid i tied with was 126... i ended up getting second instead of first

:rl::rl:

i almost did that once on a deadlift i had to walk away from it and start over.. luckly it was a false alarm..