3-4 isn't under Vilma's Skin....Cimini's Blog

SoFlaJets

Thursday, March 15th 2007, 4:00 AM

Jets linebacker Jonathan Vilma was besieged with phone calls recently when a blurb in a Washington, D.C. newspaper, perhaps fueled by rampant Internet rumors, suggested he could be traded to the Redskins. It became such a hot topic that Vilma discussed it with Redskins RB Clinton Portis, a former college teammate.

The only reason Vilma's name has surfaced in trade rumors is because of his struggles last season in Eric Mangini's 3-4 defense. But yesterday, in an interview with the NFL Network, Vilma seemed happy and optimistic that he'll be more productive in 2007.

"For me, it really doesn't matter which system I'm in as long as I'm put in a position to be successful," he said in his first interview of the offseason. "The last half of the season I started playing a lot better than the first half. I attributed that to getting used to the system, getting used to the 3-4."

The Jets aren't believed to be shopping Vilma, though he'd be their most valuable bargaining chip if they ever attempt a dramatic trade-up in next month's draft. A rival executive recently asked the Jets about Vilma, and was told they're not interested in trading him, according to an NFL source.

Of the rumors, Vilma said: "The day it came out (in the paper), we had 20 phone calls. People were asking me, 'You can't go, you can't leave, you can't go to Washington.'" The Skins have since signed MLB London Fletcher.

Rich Cimini