Making the move

RSJ

I have been seriously thinking about making a move toward entrepreneurial ship. I think I'm ready but to be honest I'am a little scared. I have 7-10 years of experience in accounting and finance. And I've been very well prepared due to holding key positions in all different sized corporations. I have an idea for a cutting edge company that could streamline a specific product and feel I have the ability to lead. Still with young kids and a mortgage to pay it is a huge risk. Anyone have any suggestions/thoughts on this topic?

Well it depends on how much you have to fall back on. Meaning if oyu can float the mortgage for awhile, it is worth a shot. As long as you are well thought out and willing to work hard.

Good luck with whatever you decide!

You have to take risks to succeed though. best of luck & perhaps you can find a trusted partner with deep pockets.

Great risk = great reward.

Joewilly said it best; find yourself a partner that has loads of dough.

Partnerships regularly fail, however. The guy with all the money typically wants 90% equity for no effort.

If you're going to find an angel with cash, form the company 50/50. Then have the company take his money as a loan, and repay it with interest. This policy will help you weed out the angels that are crooks. The money should in no way become a way for the angel to leverage greater equity, especially if you're doing ALL of the work to run the company.

That's my 2 cents. (and i expect some equity for my 2 cents) :mrgreen: