Jason Taylor Feels Like Outsider

flgreen

Sidelined Jason Taylor feels like an outsider

Monday, June 7, 2010

BY J.P. PELZMAN

The Record

STAFF WRITER

#printDesc{display:none;}FLORHAM PARK — Many NFL veterans would rather not be bothered with spring practice. Just think of a certain quarterback who wears No. 4 and has made an art form of avoiding work during this time of year.

But new Jet Jason Taylor isn't like that.

"I'm getting tired of watching everyone else practice," he said after a recent organized team activity, "but that's kind of my lot in life right now.

"Being at practice and not being able to participate," he said, "you feel like an outsider in some ways, but I've been practicing these things for 13 years. Now that I get to take some time off, I'm complaining that I can't practice. Leave it to a player to find something to complain about."

Taylor, who signed with the Jets in April after playing 12 of his first 13 NFL seasons with Miami, is restricted to being a spectator because his right shoulder still is mending from surgery performed in February. So he hasn't been able to get a taste of how his legendary pass-rushing skills will work in the Jets' attacking 3-4 defense.

Nor has coach Rex Ryan, who also can't hide his impatience.

"I was giving [Taylor] flak the other day," Ryan said, "when I said we brought him in to be a backup during walk-throughs. ... [but] he can't wait to get out there. It's hard not to get excited about him when you see the guy you've had to go up against for all those years and you finally have him on your team. I think we're all going to be excited to watch him."

Taylor, who has 127 1/2 career sacks, including seven last season, estimated that his right shoulder is about 75 percent of capacity. He will be held out of the rest of OTAs and minicamp later this month. He expects to be ready for training camp, which begins Aug. 2.