Y are we cutting Faneca?

BornJetsFan1983

Seriously, some one explain this to me, maybe Im slow but this doesnt make sense. I know faneca didnt do well last year but c'mon.

Do I have this right, we are going to eat the guaranteed money, like 5 mil, this year and lose him, leaving some rook to step in, so we don't spend 7 mil? So we are saving 2 mil and messing up the line chemistry.

Is this right? I'm not an expert in any way, someone tell me why we are doing this or at least a believable explanation so i can rationalize the situation.

As always thank you jet nation for calming a CA Jet fan...

Seriously, some one explain this to me, maybe Im slow but this doesnt make sense. I know faneca didnt do well last year but c'mon.

Do I have this right, we are going to eat the guaranteed money, like 5 mil, this year and lose him, leaving some rook to step in, so we don't spend 7 mil? So we are saving 2 mil and messing up the line chemistry.

Is this right? I'm not an expert in any way, someone tell me why we are doing this or at least a believable explanation so i can rationalize the situation.

As always thank you jet nation for calming a CA Jet fan...

I believe the $5 mil would be what is left on his signing bonus, so that is already spent and is now an accounting charge which is meaningless in an uncapped year. They are savings in real money, as well as cap, his $7.5 mil of salary this year.

If they don't bring him back at a much reduced salary, I think it is safe to assume that they believe either Hunter, Turner or Slauson can do an adequate job (can't do any worse in pass blocking) until the rookie develops.

On the surface it seems like a head scratcher, but Mr. T and Rex have done too many smart moves in the last 15 months for me to believe they have suddenly lost their minds. On this one we will just have to wait and see unless they tell us more, which I doubt.

he is a lousy pass blocker making star money, getting old and hasn't deserved a pro-bowl in 3 years