How do you cope?

OzJet

I'm fairly new to following the NFL, I only really started taking an interest back in 2009 due to some new friends, but my interest has grown rapidly since that point.

I'm from Australia, and as some on JN may know, our football is a completely different sport, but my question relates to the structure of the competition.

The Australian Football League (AFL) does not have a conference/division structure, it is simply the top 8 teams (the AFL grew from 16 to 17 this year, with an 18th team joining next year) making the playoffs, or finals as we call them, after the 22 regular season games.

With the shorter season that the NFL has in relation to the Aussie game, and the playoff qualifications being tougher (win your div or be one of 2 next best in conference), I've noticed the pressure seems to get high, and quick.

After 3 or 4 games of the NFL season, it's already clear that some teams won't make it, and some that were expected to make it, need to get moving if they want to reach the post season.

So, after that long winded intro, my question is, as a fan, how do you handle that pressure so early in the season?

My team in the AFL hasn't made the postseason since 2001, and has only done it twice since 1982, so I am used to mediocrity and the slow start to a season doesn't really get to me because I'm not expecting great things.  But you guys here seem to expect success, and as such, being a little behind the 8-ball early on seems like a huge deal.

I'm curious as to your thoughts, and how you perceive the pressure/expectations.

I hope I haven't lost you with too much rambling, and Mods, if this is in the wrong place, I apologise, and please move it at your leisure.

Cheers.

Alcohol. Non-prescriptions pills...followed by prescription pills. Women. If all else fails, do what Tom Shane does and pick up a drifter to choke you while you rub one out. (Not sure why I picked TS for this, but I'm gonna roll with it..sorry TS)