DT.. Steve McLendon ~ ~ ~

kelly

Steve McLendon's 'Just Here to Play Ball'

Former Steelers DT Fitting In Well in Jets' Scheme & Showing His Professionalism at OTAs

Steve McLendon is a different breed of nose tackle than the one we knew for the past three seasons. In fact, McLendon, who arrived in March as an unrestricted free agent from Pittsburgh, isn't listed as an NT by the Jets but as a DT.And that's one reason he reminds that he's not here now to "fill the shoes" of departed UFA Damon Harrison.

"Oh, no, I'm not here to replace anybody or fill anybody's shoes. We're two different types of players," McLendon said. "I'm just here to play ball."

As for where we'll find him most often on the field, he is a multiple warhead."I just felt like I wanted to be able to do more," he said of his D-line evolution. "In order to last in the NFL a long time, I feel like the more you can do, the better you'll help your situation. I just started learning every position, and that helps you be successful."Another reason we could see the new No. 99 lining up at 1- or 3-technique or even in the nickel is his athleticism. He's a quick, light-on-his-feet 320 pounds, which has helped not only stop the run but also, despite two-gapping for much of his time in Pittsburgh, push the pocket to the tune of five career sacks. (Two of those sacks came against Bengals QB Andy Dalton, whom he's in line to see again when the Bengals open the season at MetLife Stadium on Sept. 11.)