Gnocchi

RutgersJetFan

I've become addicted to it recently. Anyone have any good recipes?

Rutger Rutgers Rutgers.

Welcome to the brotherhood.

My gradnmother and I have been making them for about 30 years. The key is to NOT use egg. Start with potatoes(starchier the better-replaces need for eggs), don't over cook them but make sure their pliable. Depending on how heavy you want them depends on how much flower you want to use. My family makes them like "lead sinkers" VERY HEAVY, but if you want them lighter cut back on the flower. Some people use a little egg in the beginning because it helps bind it, but the true old school gnooci is sans egg. The most basic type, kind I like are just flower, water, and potatoe with a smidge of salt. People add whatever they like for flavor.

When you have your mixture it's nice to have a pasta baord. If you don;t just put some flower on your table and place quarter size splotched of dough and then rolll them. They make little stick( to roll them) thing but the old italians use a fork. Ive been making them for ever so I use my big thumbs. Make sure to dust them with a little flower before putting them in a bag to freeze them If you got room to flash freeze them before putting them in a bag it will prevent ending up with clumps(sticking together) of gnocci. If these happen eat them anyways. Part of the reason to go leash on the flower in the mixutre because you will add some as you go.

Wow, I didn;t know you where one of those "guess your weight" guys at the carnival. Awesome.

Man.. you've really blossomed over here.. good stuff .. lol

Thanks for the Gnocchi tip also. My mother is a vegan so hearing that -egg is actually better should hopefully get her to make some :D

Thanks for the Gnocchi tip also. My mother is a vegan so hearing that -egg is actually better should hopefully get her to make some :D

And thus why our love blossomed since our arrival here as well.

Crusher is teh awesome.

Rutger Rutgers Rutgers.