Versatile Keller Impresses Early

NOExcusesNYJ

Dustin Keller earned a degree in organizational leadership from Purdue University.

Starting with the rookie minicamp in early May and continuing Monday with the onset of OTA practices that rookies can attend, Keller began his pursuit of additional higher learning.

"I'm studying more in this playbook than I ever was in school," Keller said after yesterday morning's workout. "It's like I'm getting a degree in football now."

The Jets moved back into the first round to take the 6-2, 248-pound tight end, who flummoxed Big Ten defenses much of last season but did so acting more as a vertical receiving threat than a traditional tight end. The Jets saw Keller as a multi-dimensional playmaker, and there he was yesterday, lining up in several positions, including the slot.

"It's something I find to be a lot of fun, being able to be all over the field and kind of confusing the defense," Keller said. "You [the defense] see there's a tight end in the game but you don't know where he's going to line up. You have no clue. It makes me really excited that I can run out of different spots, run pass plays from all over the field."

Coach Eric Mangini has been impressed.

"He's got excellent vertical speed," Mangini said. "He's able to put a lot of pressure on the defense very quickly. Zone or man, his ability to pressure you and get on you so quickly, it's a tempo-changer."

With Chris Baker skipping OTAs in the hope of forcing the Jets to redo his contract, Keller could benefit, though veteran Bubba Franks, a more traditional tight end, would be the more realistic beneficiary. Regardless, Keller is smart enough to avoid speculating.

"I'm just trying to soak in the offense and whatever the coaches are asking of me," Keller said. "I'm looking forward to when Chris does get here so I can learn from him, learn a few things from him along with Bubba and Jason [Pociask]. I'm looking forward to all that."