30 years ago 12/8/80 .... those of you who were old enough...where were you?

gg

I remember exactly where i was when i heard the news...

i was a freshman in college... i do believe it was finals or very close to it.. it seemed unbelievable .. the news didnt make sense.. There were a bunch of us in the "TV room" waiting for word if it was true... That was our media...So much changed that day...

Cosell announced it during MNF game between the pats and dolphins...

Not being funny but what was the event? John Lennon?

yes... OY!

i know that there are at least a couple of people here in my age range who would remember it.. or maybe their parents told them stories of it. OY!

yes... OY!

i know that there are at least a couple of people here in my age range who would remember it.. or maybe their parents told them stories of it. OY!

I actually do remember it. I was in 5th grade and was still living in NYC. I did have one Beatles 8 Track (seriously) and I remember everyone being so upset. I asked my parents why someone would kill him. Obviously there were no answers.

Honestly it wasn't that long after my Uncle had been shot and killed in NYC so as a kid you just think this is some-what normal. If that makes sense....

yes... OY!

And although I was never really a Beatles fan, you don't have to be a fan to appreciate the impact he had.

I was watching MNF as many of you were.

At the time it didn't really phase me. Lennon was not doing much musically that interested me anymore. It was later that I realized what the world lost.

If you can get you hands on the John Lennon Playboy Interview from a few months (I think) before he died, it's a really great and insightful piece to read.

I was watching MNF as many of you were.

At the time it didn't really phase me. Lennon was not doing much musically that interested me anymore. It was later that I realized what the world lost.