King at it again...

ToonTime

Not that im a big fan of our owner, but this is ridiculous. Peter King str8 up called him dumb. With all of his money, don't you wish Woody would just end him right here right now..

Quote of the Week I

"When we were looking at taking Mark, I studied all the great generals to see what those men were like early in their careers, see how they reacted. It's all about how they reacted in battle, what happened when the action was really live. You see that in Mark, his calm.''

-- New York Jets owner Woody Johnson on rookie quarterback Mark Sanchez, who agreed to a five-year, $50-million contract with the team on Wednesday.

I realize you get excited about your players, particularly about the man you believe is the next long-term quarterback in franchise history, but that is one of the dumbest things I've ever heard an owner say. I can name 300 quarterbacks lauded as great leaders with terrific field presence who have come out of college football in the 25 years I've covered the NFL.

In fact, if a quarterback WASN'T a strong leader with a good presence about him, he shouldn't have been picked high in the first round. If indeed Johnson "studied all the great generals,'' and looked for traits of Sanchez in them, I hope he kept his thoughts to himself. The following quarterbacks in recent years have been well-respected by teammates, calm when the action began and renowned as terrific leaders:

1. Charlie Batch

2. Patrick Ramsey

3. Tim Rattay

4. A.J. Feeley

5. Andrew Walter

I remember being in Washington the day Heath Shuler was drafted in 1994, and Norv Turner raving about his leadership. In fact, Shuler was a terrific presence, well-liked by his mates, and couldn't play a lick. But he went on to win a Congressional seat in North Carolina. I'm sure he'd have fit in superbly in military command.