New Jets approach to rivalry with Pats : ' Why can't we be the big dogs ? ' ? ? ?

kelly

New Jets approach to rivalry with Pats : ' Why can't we be the big dogs ? '

Erin Henderson is in his seventh NFL season, but his only experience with the New York Jets-New England Patriots rivalry occurred in Week 7, a Jets loss. He's not among the Tortured 10 -- the post-2010 players who have endured eight losses in the last nine meetings with the Patriots. To Henderson, the Butt Fumble is just a play on a blooper reel.

That explains why the mild-mannered linebacker took umbrage Saturday night in Dallas when a reporter asked about the Jets' mindset as they prepare for a rematch with "the big dogs."

"We're the big dogs," Henderson shot back.

"I mean, why can't we be the big dogs?" he continued. "I don't really look at it [the same way]. This is my first year here with the Jets. I don't really have that same mentality that a lot of people may have, people that are familiar with them. I'm not familiar with them.

"To me, they're just another team. Somebody has to win. Somebody has to be the team that comes out on top. Why can't it be us? Why shouldn't it be us?"