Office romances......discussion spurred by the Boston Celtics thing.

Beerfish

Has anyone experienced this type of thing in their work place?  The rule for the Celtics seems to be geared towards a superior having undue influence with subordinates.

In my previous work place I had one of these, the romance was all above board and consensual.   Most people were happy for the two people getting along so well.  A senior manager was dating the head of the finance department.  The effect this had was this finance person (who rose through the ranks by just being there for a long time) all of a sudden was in on every single decision in the department.  She was consulted on every thing even when she really had zero reason to be involved.  As an employee you were put in a bad spot, there was more than once I felt like asking the manager 'Why is she involved in this at all?'  But of course this was the guys girlfriend.

I work in the restaurant business and you see a lot of relationships at work. It's more often than not 2 people who are equal or thereabouts on the depth chart. But I've worked at places where it's straight up said to not do it and it's probably a good idea. All of a sudden a server is getting the best sections and the significant other is the floor manager who assigns the sections. Something as little as an extra $50/shift times 5 shifts/week is an extra grand/month. Very quickly that's some real money. Or in back of house all of a sudden someone is at $20/hr yet is on salad station or gets scheduled swing shifts all the time. Eh, no good.

I did work at one place that has a huge roster (28 servers just for night shift in the summer) where the policy was basically we don't care but if it becomes an issue you're both fired. Issue means favoritism OR open bickering, drama and BS after breakup. Celtics policy seems harsh to some but I get it. 

• Upvote 1