Jim Leonhard says he is healthy

Jetfan13

Free-agent SS Jim Leonhard (Jets) said he is still hopeful of earning a spot at a team's training camp after suffering a knee injury last season. "I'm a free agent right now, hopefully in the next few weeks I get some workouts and get a contract," Leonhard said. "The knee is feeling great and I am ready to go. I am getting antsy, football is right around the corner and I don't have a team, kind of getting antsy ready to get back on that field. You just keep working, you keep grinding and good things are going to happen. I know I am going to be playing football somewhere this season, I just have to figure out where. I am excited for that day."

I'd throw him an offer for a one-year vet minimum deal. With Landry still recovering and Smith still sucking, another veteran safety in camp wouldn't exactly be the worst thing in the world.

Agreed. Especially considering he's the QB on the defense. He knows it better than anyone and we're currently having to teach what, 4 new safeties the system?

I agree with both of you, but you aren't getting THE QUARTERBACK for the vet min. Just by calling him that you are gonna have to open up the purse strings.

The Jets only paid him $2 million a year to be a starter when he was 3 years younger then and not coming off back to back seasons where he ended up on IR. I'm not sure what team will be offering him much more than vet min, if any more at all.

Leonhard isn't a dummy. He is perfectly aware of his injury history and the severity of those injuries. I do not think a one-year veteran deal will be a problem for him -- and he would be a valuable addition on more than one level.